Sjohnna McCray, a prize-winning poet whose work has appeared in numerous journals, has won the Walt Whitman Award for best first book.

McCray’s honor was announced Monday by the Academy of American Poets. McCray will receive $5,000 and a six-week residency at an artists’ foundation in Umbria, Italy. The manuscript for “Rapture,” his debut collection, will be published next year by Graywolf Press and the poets academy will purchase thousands of copies to give to its members.

McCray is an Ohio native who teaches at Savannah State University in Georgia.

Previous winners of the Whitman award, established in 1975, include Judy Jordan, John Canaday and Sally Van Doren.

Who Said It? Meg Whitman v Walt Whitman
Who said it? Forbes 400 Billionaire Meg Whitman or American poet Walt Whitman? Research: Kelly Appleton Producer/ Editor: Taylor Soppe Music: “GumboMix” by Jeris Book photo courtesy of HoskingIndustries

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close